top of page

Salsa made with heritage tomatoes


​​

My next project was using my home-grown heritage Tigerella tomatoes in a zingy salsa.

The tomatoes have done really well this year - don't ask me why. Last year I had loads of courgettes and very few tomatoes. This year the opposite. Gardeners will have their theories!

These tomatoes are lovely - they look like large sweets with their green and orangey stripes.

I simply chopped four of them, then one red onion finely and then added one chopped red chill minus seeds.

I grated one clove of garlic into this and drizzled with olive oil and half a lime squeezed.

A big sprinkle of sea salt and some dried oregano brought it all together and after three hours in the fridge the flavours had melded. Served to friends with crispy home-made tortilla chips (why didn't I take a pic of those?).

It was delicious and really moreish.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
bottom of page