top of page

This just got sillier....

Journalists call late July/August the silly season.

That's because virtually nothing happens and you end up running banal 'silly season' stories which have little substance.

For years I've toiled to fill pages of newspapers and magazines with stories that try to counteract this, sometimes successfully, sometimes not.

But until I went freelance at the beginning of the year I really did not know the true meaning of the silly season.

At the moment EVERYONE has left town and you can't get hold of ANYONE!

I feel like I have a bit part in The Walking Dead, except there's not even a single zombie roaming the streets willing to have a coffee with me.

A freelancer's work, therefore, is hard during this period and if I'd known how frustrating work life would become I'd have booked two weeks in Marbella and taken my laptop with me.

As it is, I didn't and actually do have work to get on with which means I can't just skedaddle. So I am toiling away with frequent spells twiddling my thumbs waiting on people to get back to me so I can get on with some work.

But roll on September - when the movie in my head will be I Survived the Silly Season Apocalypse!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
bottom of page